Mani-utenam

Community

4:12 min. - These are the Innu of the Great River: the Moisie River. Initially they lived at the mouth of this river, Mishta-shipu in Innu.

Transcription

Délima André - I'm 94 and I was born in Port-Cartier. The community didn't exist this far up. I followed my husband here, to Mani-utenam. He was the community's first chief. In the company of bureaucrats, they searched for an ideal spot for the new community. This land belonged to the Gallienne family.
Gallienne didn't want to sell at first, but the government forced him. First he opened a store and the Innu began to clear their land. Where do the Innu who live here, come from? They're Innu from the Great River, the Moisie River, mainly from the village at the mouth of the Mishta-shipu River.
At first there was no water. The Innu got their water from Lake Lambert in buckets. That lake is polluted now. People were so anxious to move that they pitched their tents on the future site of their homes. Why was this place once called Apituamiss? Because it was halfway between the Moisie River and Uashat (Sept-Iles). In the old days, we called this place Kapituneiat. Because small lakes appear when the tide is low.


1 Comment

Maliotenamienne 10 years, 6 months ago

VIVE MALIOTENAM!!eshe!


(*) Field mandatory





or



Top of page

Mani-utenam

La communauté

4:12 min. - Ce sont les Innus de la Grande-Rivière : la rivière Moisie. Ils vivaient initialement à l’embouchure de cette rivière, la Mishta-shipu en innu.

Transcription

Délima André - J'ai 94 ans et je suis née à Port-Cartier. Avant ici, la communauté, ça n'existait pas. J'ai suivi mon mari ici à Mani-utenam. C'est lui qui a été le premier chef de la communauté. Accompagné de fonctionnaires, ils cherchaient l'endroit idéal pour la nouvelle communauté. Ce terrain ici appartenait à la famille Gallienne.
Au début, Gallienne ne voulait pas vendre, le gouvernement l'a obligé. Il a d'abord ouvert un magasin et les Innus ont commencé à défricher leur terrain. D'où viennent les Innus qui sont ici ? Ce sont les Innus de la Grande-Rivière, la rivière Moisie, principalement du village à l'embouchure de la rivière Mishta-shipu.
Au début il n'y avait pas d'eau. Les Innus allaient chercher l'eau dans le lac Lambert avec des seaux. Ce lac est maintenant pollué. Les gens avaient tellement hâte de déménager qu'ils venaient planter leur tente sur le futur emplacement de leur maison. Pourquoi appelait-on cet endroit Apituamiss auparavant? Parce qu'il est à mi-chemin entre la rivière Moisie et Uashat (Sept-Iles). Anciennement, on appelait cet endroit Kapituneiat. Car quand la marée baisse, il y a des petits lacs qui apparaissent.


1 commentaire

Maliotenamienne il y a 9 ans, 2 mois

VIVE MALIOTENAM!!eshe!


(*) Champs obligatoire





ou



Haut de page